In late November 2016, news emerged that several key Kabila advisors would be targeted by EU sanctions following the finalisation of a draft resolution that MEPs were preparing to adopt ahead of a meeting of the Council of Ministers of EU Affairs on 12th December.

Subsequently,  a 12th December press release by the Council of the European Union stated that after failed efforts to “reconcile positions and to reach an inclusive agreement on a transition” of power that will allow the country to hold peaceful, credible elections as soon as possible, the EU has elected to impose sanctions on seven individuals occupying “positions of authority in the chain of command over perpetrators of violence”. Under the terms of these sanctions, the individuals – who stand accused of being involved in the repression of anti-government protestors and members of the political opposition – will be subject to travel restrictions and asset freezes.